Test block for Esther

Test block for Esther

I made this block as a test block for Esther of ipatchandquilt. She’s in the Netherlands and designs some amazing paper pieced quilt blocks. She was looking for someone to proof this pattern.

Like a fool, I thought I could make it a little better by dividing the sections further and alternating sections with light and dark fabrics. Esther correctly predicted that matching all 16 points in the center of the block would be problematic and Yes It Was!

Still, I loved the way it turned out. Just a little messy in the center, but we here at SewMessy don’t really care about that! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Test block for Esther

  1. zippyquilts says:

    Or applique a circle on the center, the cut out the mess underneath! OK, this is an older post, but I’m just going back through enjoying the pix 🙂

    Like

    • sportsew says:

      That’s a very good suggestion, thank you. I thought I might make this into a pillow top, since it’s a lone block. I would layer it and quilt it then make the pillow cover. After I insert a pillow form I could sew a button in the middle of the block, through the pillow form but not the backing. Then close the backing and I’d have a tufted pillow that looked like I planned it that way! 😉

      Like

  2. cotton happy says:

    You could always cover the centre with a button. Looks great though.

    Like

  3. sportsew says:

    Reblogged this on sportsew.

    Like

Leave a Reply

