Applique bird on a wire quilt 3

I needed a quick block for my Sew Pieceful quilt block exchange on Flickr. I made one in several colors. Every block must be 12 1/2″ x 12 1/2″ and in the colors selected by each recipient.

This is my second month of participation, so as soon as I receive all of my September blocks, I will have 10 blocks in my colors: violet, bright green and electric blue with a charcoal background. It will be fun to find a pleasing setting for these great blocks.

You have to keep the blocks simple because you only have 2-3 weeks to make them, so I thought of a very simple design for a bird on a wire. The wire is pieced with the background with the bird added with needle-turn applique. The beaks were added with long stitches using regular thread.

I played with the bird shape a little around the head and neck, so these blocks have slight variations. I may try some additional hand-stitched embellishment to the one I made for myself to see if I can find an easy way to add feathers.

If anyone wants the instructions to make this block, leave a comment and I can post the measurements and the bird template.

Keep it messy!

Ann

Leave a Reply

