It was worth a try.

Just before Christmas I made binding for 4 quilts I am finishing. I had the brilliant idea to use empty wrapping paper rolls to wrap the binding around instead of letting it lay in a heap, as I normally would (see the clump in the foreground of this picture).

20131230-101549.jpg

20131230-101626.jpg

I’d read somewhere about using a toilet paper roll to store binding and thought my wrapping paper roll would be a vast improvement. Wrong. It was beyond cumbersome. Wrapping the binding diagonally made it wrinkle, which isn’t a good thing.

In the end, I stooped to using a lowly toilet paper roll, which I have to admit worked beautifully.

20131230-102150.jpg

For the first time in over 20 years of making quilts, I pieced together scraps to make the binding for a blue and white baby quilt. I LOVE the way it looks wrapped around the cardboard tube, bathed in morning sunlight. What can I say, I’m nuts for anything blue and white.

May the New Year find your quilts “wrapping” your loved ones in bliss.

Ann

20131230-102600.jpg

Leave a Reply

