Boho chic tassel

Image

I made this tassel yesterday as a gift for my friend Barbara. I added tons of beads, though many are hidden in the depths of the tassel. 

An embellished tassel like this can be used as a keychain, a purse dangle, curtain tie back or, as shown in this photo, to spruce up an old brass lamp. It’s a little over the top, but I love adding this kind of rich texture to my life. 

I started by cutting narrow strips of three different fabrics. Then I threaded beads on embroidery floss and pearl cotton of various colors and weights. I tied a few of the larger beads to the fabric strips but wasn’t crazy about how jerky the fabric knots looked. (I kept them there because I don’t like to undo things very often. I prefer to keep it as is, my own personal creative expression, and try something different next time. If I try to make the first one perfect, it will never be done!)

Image

I tied it together at the top with wire strung with larger beads and wired that to a sterling silver keychain, as shown below. I wrapped a strip of fabric around the neck of the tassel, secured it with stitches and sewed beads there, too.Image

All told, this tassel probably took me 5-6 hours to make, because I was figuring out the design as I went along. I would estimate that it would take me 2-3 hours to make another one, so it’s not a super-fast project. Still, I love it and I hope Barbara does too.

3 thoughts on “Boho chic tassel

  1. sportsew says:

    You are so right, Zippy Mary! Maybe that why you’re zippier (prolific) than I am.

    Like

  2. sportsew says:

    Reblogged this on sportsew and commented:

    Gotta check out this tassel. It’s posted on my sewmessy.wordpress.com blog.

    Like

  3. zippyquilts says:

    I love it too! And I absolutely agree with not re-doing just because it isn’t perfect–the perfect is the enemy of the good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

